Professor Masaaki ANDO


27 October 2023, Friday, 0920 – 0950hr
Speaker: Keynote Session
Two Directions to Expanding Laparoscopic Surgery: Ultra-minimally Invasive vNOTES and Ultra-radical Robotics?

27 October 2023, Friday, 1330 – 1430hr
Moderator: Keynote Session

Professor Masaaki Ando graduated from Jichi Medical School and received his medical license in 1980 and Doctorate in Medicine in 1997. He was trained in pelvic surgery at Fukuyama National Hospital and in Obstetrics and Gynecology at Okayama University. 

He began surgery in 1986 and from the outset has a goal of developing minimally invasive techniques. After performing over 9,000 vaginal hysterectomies, he started laparoscopic surgery in 1997. Over his career he has performed more than 20,000 laparoscopic procedures. Continuing his pursuit for more minimally invasive techniques he moved into robotic surgery in 2013 and has performed more than 2,000 robotic surgeries. While expanding boundaries with robotics, he continued to pursue ultra-minimally invasive techniques through development of v-NOTES surgery, performing more than 300 cases.

He is also renowned for the development of a total radical trachelectomy and nerve sparing radical hysterectomy performed via the laparoscopic approach. 

He currently holds the position of Director and Head of the Gynecology Department at Kurashiki Medical Center, Clinical Professor of Kyoto University, Clinical Professor of Osaka University, Clinical Professor of Okayama University, Visiting Professor at Keio University School of Medicine, Mie University School of Medicine, Visiting Professor of Thai-German Multidisciplinary Endoscopic Training Center, Fudan University School of Medicine-Visiting Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Xi'an Jiaotong University School of Medicine-Visiting Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

He has published extensively and is the recipient of numerous awards including 3rd Place, Golden Laparoscopy Award at both the 30th and 31st Annual AAGL meetings, 2nd Place for “Best Surgical Video” at the 32nd and 33rd AAGL Annual Meeting, and First Prize at the 2000 and 2006 ISGE, 2007 ESGE and AAGL Meeting, 2008 AAGL meeting, 2009 ISGE meeting.